Finding the Right Words: Alzheimer’s, Literature, Science

Event Details

Join Cindy Weinstein and Bruce Miller for a live webinar hosted by the Alzheimer's Association on Thursday, August 26, 2021 at 1 p.m. PDT | 3 p.m. CT | 9 p.m. GMT+1.

Cindy Weinstein and Bruce Miller will be discussing and reading from their book, Finding the Right Words: A Story of Literature, Grief, and the Brain. They will share their experience of writing a memoir of Jerry Weinstein, Cindy’s beloved father who died from early onset Alzheimer’s. Their combined expertise– Cindy’s in literature and Bruce’s in neurology – creates a lyrical, informative, and deeply interdisciplinary account of dementia. A year of studying neurology at the Global Brain Health Institute, combined with a 2020 Pilot Award for Global Brain Health Leaders, enabled the completion of this book, which is designed to help patients, families, and doctors understand the challenges that come with this diagnosis.

Speakers:

  • Cindy Weinstein, PhD, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health; Professor of English, California Institute of Technology
  • Bruce Miller, MD, Director, UCSF Memory and Aging Center; Co-Director, GBHI

Find out more and pre-order the book at weinsteinandmiller.com (The John Hopkins University Press, forthcoming September 2021).

Finding The Right Words

Contact

For any queries, please email Cindy Weinstein at cindy.weinstein@gbhi.org.

Fellows and Faculty Mentioned

Topics Covered